Discover New Music on the New Releases Show, Tuesdays at 11 am and Wednesdays at 7pm

Jun 23, 2014

We want to keep you up to date with new music coming through our studios, so every Tuesday morning at 11, Doug Jayne, from The Last Record Store and KRCB's Connections program, sits down with morning host Brian Griffith to go over the most interesting and notable of new releases.  

Listen at 11 am on Tuesdays or catch the repeat broadcast on Wednesdays at 7 pm. 

This week, discover  new music from...

Pieta Brown, Paradise Outlaw

Pieta Brown: Paradise Outlaw, recorded in four days at Bon Iver mastermind Justin Vernon's April Base studio in Wisconsin with a supporting cast that includes Vernon, Amos Lee, Brown's troubadour father, Greg Brown, and various members of an experimental group of players she calls the Sawdust Collective. Paradise Outlaw boasts some of Pieta's most emotionally resonant compositions and some of her most expressive performances to date. Showcasing Brown's established strengths while staking out fresh new creative territory, Brown says of the songs, ''On my last album, I was recording near Nashville with top-call studio musicians who I hadn't worked with before, and exploring the idea of craft and trying to hone in on more classic forms than I had previously.'' She adds, ''Paradise Outlaw came from a radically different place. I was thinking a lot about freedom, experimentation, poetry, folk songs, bending forms and voices. I also wrote and delivered half the songs on the banjo, which was completely new for me. Paradise Outlaw features twelve originals by Brown plus a co-write and duet with soulster Amos Lee (''Do You Know'') and a cover of Mark Knopfler's ''Before Gas And TV.''

Colbie Caillat: Gypsy Heart

Colbie Caillat: Gypsy Heart is the fourth album from the singer/songwriter. For the album, Colbie worked with Grammy award-winning and legendary producer Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds, in-demand songwriter David Hodges, and longtime friend Jason Reeves. Songs like "Land Called Far Away" pair her distinct delivery with breezy acoustic guitars and a distinctly organic energy. Meanwhile, "Floodgates" begins with shimmering keys and propulsive handclaps as she carries a soaring hook. "Never Getting Over You" builds into a powerful refrain after a subtle verse. Features the hit 'Try'.

Link Of Chain: A Songwriter's Tribute to Chris Smither

Link Of Chain: a Songwriter's Tribute to Chris Smither. Like John Hammond. Spider John Koerner and a handful of other musicians whose careers began in the 1960s blues revival, guitarist, singer, and songwriter Chris Smither can take pride in the fact that he's been there since the beginning. He is best known for his great songs ''Love You Like a Man'' and ''I Feel the Same,'' both of which have been recorded by guitarist Bonnie Raitt, an old friend who appears on this collection alongside many Smither's contemporaries and touring partners.

Prince: Art Official Age is a classic Prince album, produced, arranged, composed and performed by Prince and Joshua Welton. Sonically the record is a contemporary concoction of soul, R&B and funk. The melodies are immediate and prominent as ever and Prince’s vocals are rich and solid, taking full advantage of his vocal range with decidedly, seductive lyrics.

Marty Stuart and his Fabulous Superlatives: Saturday Night / Sunday Morning

Marty Stuart and his Fabulous Superlatives: Saturday Night / Sunday Morning. For over forty years, the five-time Grammy winning multi-instrumentalist, singer, songwriter, photographer and historian has been building a rich legacy at this very crossroads. On his latest release with his band, Kenny Vaughn, Harry Stinson and Paul Martin--AKA: The Fabulous Superlatives--Saturday Night / Sunday Morning, Stuart captures all the authentic neon and stained-glass hues of country music- from love and sex to heartache and hardship to family and God.

Trigger Hippy, featuring Joan Osborne, Steve Gorman (best known for his work the Black Crowes), Jackie Greene (Black Crowes, Phil Lesh & Friends, Gov’t Mule, Los Lobos, Taj Mahal, Susan Tedeschi), Tom Bukovac, and Nick Govrik. The Nashville-based quintet's debut album draws on the strengths of all five, both individually and collectively, and showcases influences and inspiration from Memphis soul to rock, country and blues. One can sense The Band here, and Little Feat, some Led Zeppelin, and a tent revival; a full palette. Gorman rightly calls it a "rock band that can jam.''

Lucinda Williams: Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone

Lucinda Williams: Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone is the first album in 4 years from the 3-time Grammy Award winning musician and features 20 new songs, with 18 written solely by Williams. As expected from Williams, there are poignant intimate moments that cut to the core as well as some of the fullest arrangements Williams has recorded. Williams challenges herself vocally throughout the album, exploring new dynamics with her instrument and even incorporating improvisational elements to some of her songs. There are extended performances by an incredible list of guests that include guitarists Bill Frisell, Tony Joe White & Stuart Marthis, keyboardist Ian McLagan (Faces) as well as Elvis Costello's famed rhythm section of Pete Thomas (drums) and Davey Faragaher (bass). Jakob Dylan adds harmony vocals on the beautiful ''It's Gonna Rain'', while Williams' longtime rhythm section of Butch Norton (drums) and David Sutton (bass) make significant contributions. At 61, Williams is in the middle of the most prolific point of her career, with no signs of slowing down. After 10 acclaimed studio albums, she is still evolving and pushing forward creatively. She refuses to rest on her laurels. Then again, the best artists never do.