KRCB http://radio.krcb.org en One Man's Pee Pushes Portland To Flush 38 Million Gallons Of Water http://radio.krcb.org/post/one-mans-pee-pushes-portland-flush-38-million-gallons-water <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9wXnTtKKSrg</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 15:44:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 26062 at http://radio.krcb.org One Man's Pee Pushes Portland To Flush 38 Million Gallons Of Water Police In Canada Make Arrest Related To 'Heartbleed' Bug http://radio.krcb.org/post/police-canada-make-arrest-related-heartbleed-bug A 19-year-old alleged hacker has been arrested and his computer equipment seized by Canadian police after he purportedly exploited the "Heartbleed" bug vulnerability to steal confidential information from the country's tax collection agency.<p>"Heartbleed," which exploits a security gap in a popular open-source encryption program, was discovered last week, forcing companies to shore up their security and millions to update passwords. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 15:42:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 26063 at http://radio.krcb.org Police In Canada Make Arrest Related To 'Heartbleed' Bug Ohio's Law Against Political Lying Heads To Supreme Court http://radio.krcb.org/post/ohios-law-against-political-lying-heads-supreme-court Can a state law prevent political campaigns from doling out misinformation? Guest host Celeste Headlee learns more from The Plain Dealer's Sabrina Eaton. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 15:41:00 +0000 editor 26059 at http://radio.krcb.org Do America's Deportation Policies Work? http://radio.krcb.org/post/do-americas-deportation-policies-work Guest Host Celeste Headlee learns more about the United States' deportation policies from Muzaffar Chishti of the Migration Policy Institute. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 15:39:00 +0000 editor 26060 at http://radio.krcb.org Deported For An Old Crime, Jamaican Loses His American Dream http://radio.krcb.org/post/deported-old-crime-jamaican-loses-his-american-dream Howard Dean Bailey made a good life for himself in the U.S. But then, a decades-old run-in with the law led to his deportation. Does his story show the system failing or working? Thu, 17 Apr 2014 15:38:00 +0000 editor 26061 at http://radio.krcb.org Matrimony On Mountain Stage http://radio.krcb.org/post/matrimony-mountain-stage Matrimony make their first appearance on Mountain Stage, recorded live at the Culture Center Theater in Charleston, W.Va.<p>A true family band, Matrimony is fronted by the husband and wife duo of Jimmy Brown and Ashlee Hardee Brown, along with Ashlee's brothers Jordan Hardee and CJ Hardee. Jimmy Brown was born in Northern Ireland and came to Charlotte, N.C. — where he met his wife and musical partner — via China. Melding rock, country, gospel and longstanding folk traditions from Ireland and North America, the group released its EP <em>The Storm & The Eye</em> in 2010. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 15:05:00 +0000 editor 26058 at http://radio.krcb.org Matrimony On Mountain Stage Five Years of Boosting Energy Efficiency http://radio.krcb.org/post/five-years-boosting-energy-efficiency <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>In an early bid to combat greenhouse gas emissions and conserve energy, the Sonoma County Energy Independence Program was set up back in 2009. It just passed its five year anniversary date, which provides an opportunity to review the program's effectiveness.</p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">SCEIP&nbsp;is also co-hosting an Energy Action Forum today at Paradise Ridge Winery&nbsp; in Santa Rosa, from 4-7 pm, &nbsp;to honor six local Energy Champions. &nbsp;They are:</span></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 14:28:00 +0000 Bruce Robinson 26030 at http://radio.krcb.org Five Years of Boosting Energy Efficiency Fate Of Girls Abducted In Nigeria Now Uncertain http://radio.krcb.org/post/fate-girls-abducted-nigeria-now-uncertain A Nigerian school principal says searchers are still looking for about 100 girls and young women abducted by Islamist extremists, even though the nation's military has said all but eight of the victims are now safe and accounted for.<p>"We are still waiting and praying for the safe return of the students ... the security people, especially the vigilantes and the well-meaning volunteers of Gwoza are still out searching for them," Principal Asabe Kwambura <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=304044424" target="_blank">told The Associated Press on Thursday</a>. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 13:45:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 26057 at http://radio.krcb.org Ukraine Crisis: Diplomats Meet, Putin Admits Russia's Role In Crimea http://radio.krcb.org/post/ukraine-crisis-diplomats-meet-putin-admits-russias-role-crimea As U.S. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 13:11:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 26056 at http://radio.krcb.org Ukraine Crisis: Diplomats Meet, Putin Admits Russia's Role In Crimea Weekly Jobless Claims Stay Near 7-Year Low http://radio.krcb.org/post/jobless-claims-stay-near-7-year-low There were 304,000 first-time claims filed for unemployment insurance last week, up just 2,000 from the previous week's revised figure of 302,000, <a href="http://www.dol.gov/ui/data.pdf" target="_blank">the Employment and Training Administration said Thursday</a>.<p>The scant increase means claims continued to run near their lowest pace since May 2007 — seven months before the economy slipped into its latest recession. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 12:38:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 26055 at http://radio.krcb.org